top of page

Living with no regrets

Finally…I tilted my head back and let the warm clean water wash away all the evidence that I had just finished a good cardio workout. Wonderful…

As I reached for my shampoo, my mind flip flopped back in time. Different images and memories of all the years that I have spent in the gym world rushed by. Pictures of gyms in 1975 with two or three cycles, perhaps 5 or 6 weight benches and an array of loose weights lying about gave way to the era of high impact aerobics and our cool “Flashdance” outfits. Leg warmers, footless tights and high cut leotards as we frantically danced our “Jazz aerobics” routines. Such energy, such fun and an elevated adrenalin level kept us coming back for more…and more…

Twenty two years ago, I was doing three hours of gym per day. I loved it!

Now, here I am, in 2020. I have been doing gym for 45 years and I still love it!

Has it benefitted me? Yes and again I say YES!

Do I always feel like going to gym? No and again I say NO!

The truth is though like everything worthwhile, it requires a disciplined life.

A great marriage is the result of a disciplined life.

Any achievement – the great sportsman, getting a degree, your dream house – all the result of hard work and a disciplined life. There are just no shortcuts. What seems hard now will be absolutely worth it in the long run!

So tomorrow, when I look at myself in the mirror and I ask myself whether I should give gym a miss I will consider my ‘future’ self and let my ‘future’ self decide…

May we all have the courage to take the time to look into our future to see whether the decisions that we are about to make today are worth it because every choice we make is taking us along a path of consequences and I hope that our future selves will be able to look back and say “thank you!”

Living with no regrets!

From my heart to yours,

XXX

Sylvia

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page